C912 won't print both sides [duplex] anymore

Hi crew,
I have a Lexmark C912 with Ethernet print server that has served me well for many years.
A few weeks ago it suddenly would not print both sides.
I've had the duplex unit out, cleaned it with compressed air, checked all the belts and gears, checked the plug and wiring, can't see anything wrong??

Duplex is enabled in the printer [finishing menu], is added as an option in the print driver properties > config tab and is available to select in the print driver properties.
The duplexer does seem to be getting drive during self test after power on, though it's hard to be sure.
I've tried re-installing the driver - nope.

I'm an electronics tech who is pretty computer savvy and I know this printer very well, but this issue has got me stumped!!
V. frustrating! Everything I throw at it, just ends up with me in the bin!! grrrr!!!!

The one thing I'm yet to try is to print from a different machine.
This machine is win 7 x64.

I have a feeling that an update from MS is what's killed it, as I have dual boot with XP Pro x86 to keep my Matrox rtx10 capture card operational [no drivers from Matrox for win7]
After installing a batch of security updates from MS for xp, it/they killed my capture card driver.
Re-installing Matrox x tools [with drivers] got my capture card working again, so.....but, re-installing the driver for the c912 should have corrected any issue....you would hope..... everything else on the c912 works fine, just the duplexer won't do both sides.
I know it's not going to work even before the first sheet has been delivered, as I can hear the feed tray click another sheet out before the first sheet has made it to the delivery [bin 1], at which point it normally reverses that sheet back into the machine via the duplexer which in turn feeds it back around to the input side.
Must try another computer

Any help, thoughts, advise much appreciated :)
Cheers