I need two printers.

BML

The yellow light on my 12 year old black and white Samsung ML 6040 will not go out so I guess its stuffed. My canon Pixma iP6000 D colour printer has never been much good so I need to buy replacements.
I print about 150 A4 sheets B&W a week mainly club minutes and I rarely print in colour because the results have been so disappointing so I would welcome some advice.
I have to say that I am not a fan of multi function devices because I consider that stand alone devices are more reliable.
I regret that I do not know the real differences between a laser and the other sort and I would hope not to spend more than about £300.00 or am I to naive.
So, would anyone care to make a suggestion

Tom

I have been using Epson and Canon inkjet printers for the past 13 years. The problem was the high cost of ink, but I began refilling the cartridges with bulk ink, which worked great. Alas, my Canon Pixma 6600 D died recently.

I began looking into monochrome laser printers, which are now reasonably priced. In the end I decided against laser printers for a few reasons: none of them could print on card stock (thick enough for business cards). Apparently, thick card stock can;t be wrapped around the drum without issues. The laser printers I was considering were also said to be not very good at printing graphics. Then there are potential health issues due to the ultra-fine toner particles that laser printers may emit.

I decided to buy an Epson Workforce WF1030 monochrome inkjet printer for about $70. While it doesn't print quite as clean as the Canon Pixma did, it prints much faster and achieves much deeper black. Also, the ink is smudge and water-resistant. Third party high volume ink cartridges are available. I am also looking into refilling, but have neither found a chip resetter nor intructions on how to reset the ink level via the printer itself.

Not sure if any of this info helps you.