Need a new awesome printer

Hi there,

I'm looking for a new Printer but I don't really know what would be the best one for my usage.

I'm a student at the university, therefore I will have to print many documents.

I read that the DPI (scan quality), the PPM (print speed), the separate cartridges (not just black and 3 colors in one cartridge), Inkjet or Laser, were all the useful features for choosing the printer.

I'd like a printer that can Print, copy and scan. A printer that isn't too big, but which respects the above characteristics.

After that, I don't really know the best between Inkjet or Laser.

What do you recommend ? :)

I, too, am looking for a new printer, and it makes my head spin. Below is what I have gleaned. I'm most familiar with Epson inkjet. Individual color cartridges do make sense if you have to print one color more than others, say for a logo. Most new printers seem to have multiple ink cartridges now. Some printers offer extra large black cartridges for printing more text. I'm skeptical of offers of automatic ink shipment, and repeated popup notices are annoying and need to be turned off. My scanner provides images of between 200 and 300 dpi, but I still find it helpful to brighten and sharpen documents using the free image program Paint.NET. Print speed seems more important to people printing lots of statements or flyers. If you are not waiting to print until the morning a paper is due, it shouldn't be an issue for you either. Printer noise is more important to me, but it's not something reported in the reviews. Make sure your new printer can connect with your current computer. Some are wifi/ethernet only. Others are USB connectable but don't always include the cable.