Printing on Recycled paper with Epson P-400

I'm new to professional photo printers so please forgive my ignorance!

I am a graphic designer and bought a Surecolor P-400 with the idea of making art prints alongside my business of making notebooks and diaries. I thought it would save me time and money with print projects if I could do much of it at home with a good quality printer. However, so far it has caused me quite a lot of frustration and annoyance.

Much of my primary work involves printing on 100gsm A5 recycled paper. I have a huge batch of the stuff so I really need to be able to print with it. Unfortunately about half the prints I make are misaligned at the bottom of the page. When I contacted Epson they said I have to contact the paper company to get an ICC profile as that might be the issue. The paper company and the supplier don't know what I'm talking about. I feel like everyone's fobbing me off and I am left with a very expensive unused printer taking up space. All the time I'm not making products is money lost.

• Does anyone know if Epson were likely right about their assumption?
  • Who should I be talking to, to get the printing information that I need?
  • Does this printer only accept special Epson paper or can I use regular printer paper?
  • Is it common to have issues printing on A5 paper and is there a fix for this?
  • Which settings should I use to print on A5 100gsm recycled paper?
If it helps to know, I use a Macbook Pro, design mostly in InDesign, convert to PDF and print from Preview.

I'd appreciate any advice.