What printer to buy

Hi everyone,
I'm wondering what printer would be the best choice for me, given a number of requirements I have. I'm looking for a not-too-expensive home printer (I will also take the price of cartridges into consideration). I have some ideas after researching a couple of models, but would like some advice before I make a final decision. Here are my requirements:
  • High resolution (I will print architectural drawings -- I'd like to see the difference between thick and thin lines)
  • Accurate colors
  • The ability to print on to 300g paper (more is better)
  • Wireless printing (does not have to be super simple to set up, I have some computer networking experience)
  • Relatively small (does not have to be super small though)
I have some secondary requirements, that are not essential:
  • Good photographic printing capabilities
  • Scanning capabilities
I do not care about printing speed. I'd be thankful for any advice I'll get.

With best regards,
Már

Ian

Hi Már, welcome to the forums :).

I've just got a couple of questions that may help people be able to suggest a printer - which part of the world are you from and what paper size will you be using (is A4 big enough?).

Hi,

What printer did you end up buying? If you haven't already, I'd recommend a decent HP. Maybe a X476DW?

Also, why do you want do print up to 300g papers? That's thicker than a regular postcard..

Hi everyone,
I'm wondering what printer would be the best choice for me, given a number of requirements I have. I'm looking for a not-too-expensive home printer (I will also take the price of cartridges into consideration). I have some ideas after researching a couple of models, but would like some advice before I make a final decision. Here are my requirements:
  • High resolution (I will print architectural drawings -- I'd like to see the difference between thick and thin lines)
  • Accurate colors
  • The ability to print on to 300g paper (more is better)