Epson 3880: Maybe Have Air in Line - What Do you think? What to do?

I have an epson 3880 that I have had for about 5 years. It has always worked just about flawlessly until this past month... and as an aside, I print with it at least weekly, and typically much more often then that.

I have been buying refilled cartridges from ClickInks for a couple of years, and they have always worked without a hitch.

Back in July I had to replace my Photo Black cart and duly installed a Click Inks cart, which the printer acknowledged and read the chip showing the ink level to be full.

After running the cart for about a month or so, I had to print a poster for a customer and at the last inch at the bottom, suddenly there was no black. I thought "Clogged print head", so ran a nozzle pattern, and sure enough, the photo black was almost entirely gone, did a head clean, printed the nozzle check again, and it looked great.

I then attempted to print yet again. This time, very soon after the print started, black disappeared again. I ran another nozzle check, PK was totally blank. Ran a cleaning and another nozzle check - still totally gone.

For whatever reason, I decided to look at the PK cartridge - when I pulled it out - IT WAS TOTALLY EMPTY - BONE DRY!! - this even thought the printer showed that it was more than 90% full!

Ok, so I get on the horn with ClickInks, tell them that I had a bum cartridge and they ship out another. After a week of waiting, it came in, I installed and figured I was good to go. I installed it, printer acknowledged it as a new cart, duly showing cartridge full on the little graph.

I attempted to print today - no black - all other colors perfect, but PK still totally blank on nozzle check.

So I figured it was a really bad clog. Had gotten a head cleaning kit and solution, and cleaned the head as per the official video from InkJetMall or some such - no change.